top of page

Thu, 07 Apr


O'culto da Ajuda

A Laugh to Cry - Opera

A Laugh to Cry Opera for 3 singers (2 sopranos and bass-baritone), 2 narrators, 7 instruments, live electronics and video (2013) Co-commissioned by the Warsaw Autumn & the Ernst von Siemens Foundation

Tickets Are Not on Sale
See other events
A Laugh to Cry - Opera
A Laugh to Cry - Opera

Time & Location

07 Apr 2022, 19:30 – 22:00

O'culto da Ajuda , Tv. Zebras, 1300 Lisboa, Portugal

About the Event

New op-era   A LAUGH TO CRY de  Miguel Azguime

7, 8, 9 de Abril | 19h30

10 de Abril |  17h30

Pedro Neves direcção Camila Mandillo soprano Andrea Conangla soprano André Henriques baixo barítono Miguel Azguime recitante Jade Mandillo recitante

Sond’Ar-te Electric Ensemble

Sílvia Cancela flauta Nuno Pinto clarinete Vítor Vieira violino Jorge Alves viola Luís André Ferreira violoncelo Francisco Cabrita piano João DIas percussão

Miguel Azguime libreto, música Paula Azguime encenação Andre Bartetzki live electronics, direcção tecnológica Perseu Mandillo VFX & 3D, fotografia  Margarida Moreira luz Miso Studio técnica

A Laugh to Cry is a metaphysical theatre embodying eternal archetypes with music and multilingual libretto by Miguel Azguime.  Reflecting on the devastation of the Earth, on the barbarism of war, on the destruction of Nature, on the hegemonic power of the “market” and the consequent annihilation of cultures, on the loss of civilisational memory, he speculates and confronts us with the possible collapse of humanity but also with its eventual rebirth.

A Miso Ensemble /Miso Music Portugal project.

A Laugh to Cry” pursues Miguel Azguime’s goal, as a composer, poet and performer, to grasp an ideal balance between language and music, to merge the language’s semantic and metaphorical components with its sonic values, in order to achieve his concept of “speech as music and music as speech”. “A Laugh to Cry” extends Miguel Azguime’s research on voice analysis, re-synthesis and processing, aiming at creating a dynamic continuum between timbre, harmony, rhythm and voice spectra.

Encomenda do Warsaw Autumn Festival e Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation.

Share This Event

bottom of page